Regions of New South Wales

Where is New South Wales? New South Wales is a state on the east coast of Australia, bordering Queensland to the north, Victoria to the south and South Australia to the west. It also borders the Coral and Tasman Seas to the east. The Australian Capital Territory and Jervis Bay Territory are enclaves within New South Wales.

Some interesting facts about New South Wales:

  • you probably know that the state capital is Sydney – but do you also know that about 2/3 of the state’s population (~5.3 million people) live in the Greater Sydney area?
  • with over 8 million people, it’s Australia’s most populous state
  • it’s the site of the first European settlement in Australia: the British colony at Sydney Cove (which later grew into the city of Sydney)


National parks